Dumping syndrome

Posted , 1 user is following.

7 weeks post gallbladder removal, on a low fat +watching FODMAP food. This has helped heaps but occasionally when I'm really active and drink heaps food just goes in and out in mins-hrs.

Can you be tested for dumping syndrome? Can it fix itself. What should I do to stop it?

I ate steamed fish and a potato and had the worst stomach pains and 3 time running to the toilet. Heading for a Dr appointment tomorrow to address it and back pain.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi, Stef,  just do as you've been doing, stick to several small meals a day....for some people after gallbladder surgery bile drips constantly into their small intestine.  When you eat large meals, the production speeds up, and you have the effect you're describing.  Good luck!

• Posted

I'm no expert, but my understanding of bile production by the liver after gallbladder removal is slightly different.

From what I read so far online, after the gallbladder is removed, the liver has no storage for bile, so it trickles bile into the intestine constantly. When the bile eventually pools in the lower intestine, it stimulates water secretion from the intestinal walls, thus causing water to pool and eventually secreted to the colon and causes diarrhea.

In my personal experience, I think it is also due to foods passing through the digestive tract too quickly as a consequence of not having the gallbladder (probably some biochemical reaction in the guts due to the trickling bile coating the intestinal walls).

The reason why I say that is because I noticed that when I eat foods that tend to take longer to digest, like grilled chicken and spaghetti (supplemental iron in the pasta makes it harder to pass through the guts), my diarrhea symptoms decrease somewhat.