Dyspraxia and its effect on Adolescents in secondary school

Posted , 5 users are following.

I am an SEN teacher with over 20 years experience in UK secondary mainstream schools. I have worked closely with several dyspraxics, some statemented, some at school action plus. i have noticed considerable difficulties and similarities in their responses to puberty and the demands of the national curriculum. In boys the principle problems revolve around frustration, this manifests itself as temper outbursts, often completely draining the sufferer leading to crying or dislocation from their situation. Boys are easily influenced by peers and dyspraxic boys are often scapegoats for others behaviour or led into situations which they cannot foresee the outcomes of. Dyspraxic boys tend to be untidy and their presentation of work is very poor. Concentration can be variable, they are often thought of as lazy because on some days they can be better than on others. Items of uniform are another bone of contention as is homework. The opposite sex cause problems for dyspraxic boys. Being generally more immature and timid in this respect they, sometimes by their natures, they can be manipulated by girls then dropped like stones, something they cannot rationalize easily leading to great frustration and hurt. Some boys with dyspraxia have a problem with the notion of personal space, invading it without knowing ,leading to unfair and cruel labelling by girls as perverts or similar. Some dyspraxic boys also seem to have more than average issues around their gender, exploring masturbation more obviously than their peers. Probably because subtlety is alien to the condition not that they are any more fascinated by sex than any other adolescent.