eGFR 14-creatinine 3.4, Stage V gathering information

Posted , 4 users are following.

My renal function deteriorated from eGFR of 29, where it had been stable for 4 years, to an eGFR of 14 this past December. I'm visiting with my medical team about treatment options. But I would like to hear a little about patient experiences with the two options I'm considering:

PD dialysis

Kidney transplant

I'm a university professor and hope to b able to continue working full time. I'm also hoping I'll be able to execise daily. Given my age, I'm not sure I want to go through the transplant surgery. I realiz that is likely an unusual situation, but my thinking is that PD dialysis sounds as though it is quite "doable" and is a treatment option that is often viable for 15 years or so. That would put me close to 80 years of age, fairly close to the average age of life for a woman my age. And, I realize that I would likely still be eligible for in-center HD dialysis at that point. If so, between both dialysis treatment options, I would likely experience a "typical" length of life.

I live alone. My doctors say that I'm an excellent candidate for PD dialysis. Of course, we don't yet know about transplant eligibility. (I will go through testing to determine if that is actually a viable option.)

So, I would greatly appreciate hearing from any of you who are willing to share a little about your experiences with either of these treatment options--what was a typical day in your life like while receiving that treatment option? A week? Were you able to keep working? Full time? Part time? How long did it take you to recover from the surgery associated with the treatment option you chose? Adjust to the treatment? And finally, as one who has walked the walk, so to speak, what words of wisdom do you have to share with me.

Thank you for taking time to read and respond to my post!

Marj

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Hi Marj