Electric nerve type pain before hip replcement

Posted , 4 users are following.

i am a 70 yr old male, I have Ostioarthritis in spine, lower back and hips, never had pain in any of the above until I had groin strain in turn an X Ray showed the above and needed a new hip, main problem is I only have this electric shock type pain that runs down the front side and underneath of the affecting side, it isn't there when I sleep only when I turn over in bed,been on pain killers incl Morphene patches but nothing is helping, walking with one stick and can't walk far,hip opp March 3 rd,this is all driving me mad and getting my wife down too, so can anyone tell me if they have had pain like that and it had it gone once new hip was in?we can't seem to find out, had this since Nov Last yr, having to go private cause he can't stand it much longer and NHS can't give us a date.many thanks.

2 likes, 26 replies

26 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Keith,

I'm no expert but it sounds like you're describing nerve pain to me, maybe a nerve that is being pinched when you move.  Apart from lower spine and hip I also have OA in upper spine and have had that 'electric shock' feeling down my arm, plus numbness from time to time.  Also down the front of my thigh occasionally, which I hope will go away when I get my new hip.  I also get what I call 'toothache' in my thigh, I'm told this is referred pain.  Goodness knows how many bits are affected by crumbling joints but I'm certainly hoping a new hip will cure most of mine.

Cels x

• Posted