Emetaphobia(fear of sick)

Posted , 3 users are following.

Feel like I'm never off here lately!

Latest thing(which is a constant in my life) is this phobia!! I envy, and long to be one of those people who, when their kid says 'my tummy hurts' can soothe their child, sit with them and care for them. Not me! Cue blind panic, and planning my exit route if said kid throws up!!

I hate that I'm not a proper mummy to my 3 kids. Instead, I live in CONSTANT(and I really do mean constant-it consumes and controls every thought I ever have) fear of me, my partner, or the kids catching a stomach bug.

Help... how can I become a 'normal' person who doesn't freak out about this?!

I'm 35 and have felt like this for about the last 30 years. I'm about ready to give up...

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Why exactly are you scared of the flu? Are you scared you'll die from it, you wont be able to take care of the kids if you're sick?

I'm also a bit freaked out of getting sick, but at the same time, look at how many meds they make to help symptoms or get the stomach bug completely gone..

Worst case scenario, I'm down in bed for a few days and get to watch tv. Haha.

• Posted

I envy you, more than you could ever know. My fear is totally irrational. I know this. I still haven't worked out what part of it I think is the scariest bit? Is it that I think I'll die? No I do t think so. Maybe it's a fear of losing control? God knows?!

My 4 year old was complaining of stomach pain earlier, I've been a shaking mess ever since. Great fun!

• Posted

Just think of how many great meds they have now for things like the stomach bug.. A quick doctors visit and within 48 hours it would be almost done.