Emphysema

Posted , 7 users are following.

I have been diagnosed with 3rd stage emphysema, or chronic lung disease, I am on oxygen for exercise, and often get lung infections, most times I cope ok but during infections become very anxious and depressed. Was wondering how others cope with this stage, thank you

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

I'm 52 yrs young. Diagnosed 2 yrs ago with Empthsema, have been to see the transplant team etc and chose not to go down that path as my body would not be able to take it ( my call. ) With this every day is a challage, I cope by put myself in a nice place in my mind. I switch off from all the bad stuff in the world. It's about controlling your mind. I have 3 grand children which I love very much. I have been told that I will not live as long as I think I will live, and get my house in order. I don't let this control my life in any way even when I'm really bad. I hope this help as I'm not very good at writing things down etc. My advice to any one is live you life for you not the illness.

Regards 

Stuart

• Posted

I am 55 and also have been to see the transplant team. As of today I am still in the assessment phase but am looking forward to the operation. I am just wondering why you chose not to pursue that path.  While I admire  your ability to control your mind and retain positivity, I am viewing the transplant as an opportunit to last a bit longer for my grandkids; I guess i just don't  grasp your mentality and would like to have a better understanding.

I wish you all the best down your bumpy road and hope that you can absorb all the love bestowed upon you. I think you are very brave.

• Posted

Hi Shannon

From the authoritative reports I have read, a transplant will not necessarily increase your life expectancy, but will vastly improve your quality of live.

• Posted