Endoscopy so scared help

Posted , 6 users are following.

hello me again

so my endoscopy is this Thursday

I'm so scared of getting it done but I must get this done I've been hiding from this for 6 years been referred 4 x and each time I havent gone as to scared

I have really bad aniexty and struggle to go doctors let alone hospital to get this done

reason I need it done is I've had really bad acid reflux for the last 7 years and they want to see what's causing it if anything.

I really need to get this done if u have had this done in the uk with sedation please tell me I'm just worrying about nothing and let me know ur experiences please

thanks for replies in advance

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Danny please do not worry ,i also suffer with anxiety and i have had the endoscopy 3 times all without sedation , it is over so quickly and i am not goingto lie to you ,i dont think you would believe me if i did , it is a strange feeling and you may feel a bit uncomfortable ,but it is no where near as bad as you fear , and with sedation you will not even remember it , so try to relax as much as you can focus on you breathing ,good luck and let us know how you get on

• Posted

I am not from the UK but I can tell you there is nothing to it. takes about an hour from the time u check it, get in a hospital gown, they take your vitals, put am IV in, doctor stops by, rolled into room, sedation administered and u r waking up..the test itself takes at most 20 min..biopseys are take. during procedure and this is common...you are given a snack and on your way home.. A pain free test..very fast. I also get terrible anxiety but this is not a test to get worked up about. simple and easy..

best of luck

• Posted

I had it done in the US 2 months ago with sedation

its's not bad at all and I have anxiety and I'm a hypochondriac