Enlarged heart - operation to repair

Posted , 2 users are following.

I have a relative who has been diagnosed with an enlarged heart.  My father died of an enlarged heart 25 years ago. so its in the family.

I am an engineer so I can understand a simple explanation that if your heart gets bigger but the muscle doesn't get stronger then the pressure it can pump falls away and you have a problem of insufficient blood flow and low blood pressure.   Drugs that make the heart work harder are only going to wear the muscles out faster unless you can make them grow so they are again in the right proportion to the heart size.

One drastic siolution I heard of is that instead of making the muscles grow or just work harder we make the pump back to its old efficiency.   Heart too Big?  Then just make it smaller.    The idea is that the surgeon just cuts a wedge out of the muscle and sews the remaining heart back together.   It all then heals and you have aas good as new,    I can't imagine what you do while it heals but I am only an engineer and I expect the heart experts to have such issues covered.   After all swapping a heart out is now routine.

Can anyone tell me if they have heard of this operation and what they know about it?

1 like, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

The problem with heart surgery I was later told is that the heart does not like being handled and that is why I went into AF after aortic valve replacement. I'd read everything about the procedure and asked all the questions but the fact that happens to around 33% of patients eluded me.In many ways I'm now in a worse situation than before and now three years later am waiting for a pacemaker.
    • Posted

Hi Derek

A valve replacement sounds pretty routine so a 33% chance of a problem sounds bad.