Epididymitis

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have had dull pain and discomfort around my left testicle since March this year and I haven't had any sexual contact since 2014.

I have gone to my GP who requested an ultrasound, blood test and urine test. I had 2 seperate courses of antibiotics. Results of the tests came back as clear.

Saw Urologist last week who examined me and read my referral from my GP and diagnosed that I have Epididymitis. My GP prescribed Amitriptyline which has taken the edge off the discomfort and pain. I also take solphadine as when necessary if the Epididymitis flares up.

Can anyone give me some other tips on coping with this condition?

3 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I'm sorry to hear this. I have been battling this for 2+ years now and have implemented a number of things to help cope.

1. compression shorts - keep area up and out of the way so not irritated. Although there are times when wearing nothing is the best.
    2. "relaxed fit" pants and larger waist. - to avoid any pressure points
    3. ice - I carry a cooler of ice where ever I go, especially at work and while driving
    4. heating pads
    5. warm baths
    6. seat cushion - I have a custom seat cushion that is cut out in the front so that "the boys" do not touch the seat.
    7. limit physical activity or anything that aggravates it.
    8. stretching and maybe PT.
    9. pain meds, although have had little success with these, even at high doses.
    10. driving a different car that is more ergonomic.
    11. Avoid too much sitting. Sit in reclining position to put pressure elsewhere.