ESA and payment for work already done.

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi everyone, I am an artist. I am expecting to be signed off work due to suspected Lyme Disease, however, I have lots of art work in galleries and exhibitions. Obviously this is work I have already done. I was told by a benefits advisor that it was OK to leave my art work for sale but he didn't explain how it would affect my benefit if anything sold. Has anyone got any experience of this? I am assuming they will dock my ESA pound for pound each week I declare a sale. Any help appreciated, thanks!

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lolly

There is 2 types of Employment and Support Allowance Contributory and Income Related. Contributory is a direct replacement for your lost income due to ill health and is based on your National Insurance contributions.

Income Related is benefit for those whose income is so low they need support from the state and have either not made enough NI contributions or their NI contributions have exhausted.

To complicate matters more (welcome to the world of benefits!) there are two ESA Groups which you could be placed in. The first is the Work Related Activity Group (WRAG) or the Support Group (SG).

If placed in the WRAG your contributory ESA would last 12 months until they exhaust, you would then transfer to Income Related. If placed in the SG your ESA would remain contributory for as long as you remain in the SG.

In your case this is important because if you were in receipt of IR ESA any income received for selling paintings would be deducted £ for £. IR is also affected by savings, anything over £6,000 and your benefit is reduced by £1 for every £250 of savings over the £6k limit, up to a maximum of £16,000 where no benefit is paid at all.