ESA and Savings

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi

I had been receiving Income-Related ESA (Support Group) for several years, when last year a friend left me some money in his will.  This was very nice but totally unexpected. This has allowed me to pay off my long-term debts and next year it will enable me to pay the shortfall on my endowment mortgage, which will leave only a very small amount left.

I informed the DWP straight away as it was more than the allowable savings.  My ESA was moved to the Contributions Based ESA (still support group) and I saw a reduction in payments.

Last week I received a letter from the DWP regarding my ESA.  It says that "Every year we look at the savings and property that may affect your allowance".  They want to see copies of my recent bank statements to see the level of my savings.  I have sent these back, but I'm wondering why they need to see these if I'm not making a claim to go onto the Income-Related ESA.  I've not hidden anything from them, and the money from the will is the only savings I have ever had in my life. 

Am I being a bit paranoid, or am I missing something, but I can't see the reason why they need to see my savings balance each year  (It's gone down since last year, but even if it had gone up, I still can't see why they would need to see it if I wasn't claiming anything new).

Many thanks

Will

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

• Posted

HI,

You can't be moved from Income related ESA to Contribution based, it doesn't work like that. If you were claiming Contribution Based ESA with an Income Related top up then your level of savings would affect the top up part only. For means tested benefits anything over £6000 will affect your benefits £1 for every £250 over that amount. For savings £16000 and over and your Income related benefits stop completely.

Did you have more or less than £16000? Your post is rather confusing because if you were claiming contribution based ESA then your savings wouldn't affect this.