Esa Claim

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello, I am new to this so I am not sure if I've posted this in the right place.

My name is Amber, I am nearly 22 and I have been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, apparently I've had this all my life but it's never been diagnosed (as a child I'd be in agony and my legs would give way when running in the play ground.) I also have depression.

I applied for Employment and Support Allowance on the 31st of July 2014 and finally had my assessment on the 14th of April after they cancelled it because my assessor wasn't feeling very well. I went to this assessment with my housemate and my son. My housemate waited in the waiting room and my 21 month old son came in with me.

She assessed me, asked me to touch my toes which I couldn't and did not do... She asked me to squat which I couldn't do. After two days I got a phone call telling me I'd failed the ESA assessment. She had stated I walk to my physio with no problem and allsorts that just was not true. My doctor had only been writing back pain on the medical notes. I explained I had fibromyalgia and the man 'Steve' rang me back on the 23rd of April and told me if my doctor wrote a backdated medical note from the 31st of July 2014 onwards then he would overturn the decision and therefor put me on ESA.

I did this straight away as I already had a doctors appointment that day for stronger painkillers and other tablets. On the same day (23rd) I got a taxi and took it to the job centre. The woman rather than scanning I over decided she would post it and it then became lost. They made the decision without seeing the medical note.

A few days ago I got the phone call telling me they made the decision and I've failed still and they won't be changing the decision, they told me they didn't receive a medical note and I had to hand another one in.