Esa support group and pip

Posted , 4 users are following.

I'm wanting some advice and I've been reading a lot on here and I'm quite confused so thought I'd post to see what different answers I get

I've recently just had a medical for my esa and had a letter saying id been put in the support group I claim joint with my boyfriend for esa aswell

I've then recently had to phone pip to explain that my conditions had changed and they said I had to apply for pip I've phoned up to start my claim and am waiting for a form to fill out what I'm wanting to know is can me and my boyfriend both claim pip as well as esa as the esa is a joint claim but we would be claiming pip separate not together id like to know what people have to say to this as it would really help I find myself at the moment getting very confused and stressed and would just like some answers to this question thank you

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Casie,

I'm no expert and Denise who is very knowledgeable in this respect will hopefully be able to advise you more fully.  However if either of you were eligible for PIP, then they would have to be separate claims.  I see that you are waiting for your forms, so your boyfriend would need to ring the DWP to start a claim in his name. 

• Posted

Hi Casie,

You say you rang PIP to say your condition has changed does this mean you already claim PIP or is this a new claim?