exercise...

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all, just thought I'd throw this out there. Whilst I appreciate not everyone can do this, I have been reminded today about the importance and impact of short but high intensity exercise. Doing 20 mins (or what you can) each day of exercises you would find on circuit training. I'm looking to implement this to see if it helps. 2 separate sources have told me that it can be more effective than the meds..just wondering if anyone else has found this..? Again I appreciate not everyone can do this type of exercise.. Also I have been reading a good book on the brain and anxiety if anyone wants the name send me a message..

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Totally agree. I used to be a football referee at a high level but got injured which meant i couldn't carry on. And that's when the depression stated for me. My bike has been dusted off and gonna start using it now as makes you feel a million times better.

• Posted

We find taking the dog down on the beach seems to help us, and of course Pax

Up here today it has been white with heavy frost and we were supposed to go on the beach, to cold for us and the dog, Pax would not get out the car.

B.

• Posted

Agree.  Releases endorphins which are good for you - laughter also releases them too biggrin  For me its dancing.  Started when I was recovering and I found I could 'lose' myself and forget all about 'it' when in class and feel good afterwards too.  Loved it so much I went on and trained as a dance teacher!!

I do yoga too - such a great feeling of relaxation afterwards.  Oooh walking too.

Let us know how you get on surprised

• Posted

I find its great.  You don't do vigorous exercises and get out of breath, but instead it focuses on strength and flexibility - is great for physical and mental wellbeing.  After a class I feel so deeply relaxed and get a sense of well being.

There's different types of yoga too.  

• Posted