exercise and kidney disease?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi

My name is Hannah and I'm a health professional and researcher. Would anyone be able to help me, I'm trying to gain a better understanding of how people think and feel about being physically active when they also have kidney disease. I'd like to hear about your experiences. If you can answer any of the following questions: 

Is there anything that helps or motivates you to be more active or stops you? How important is or was being physically active before starting dialysis? Have you received any help or support with this? Can you describe any activities you regularly do? Has this changed since you were diagnosed with kidney disease? 

Many thanks in advance for your time, all information will be treated anonymously and may help to inform how we treat and support people with kidney disease in the future. 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Hannah,

I have kidney disease (IGA nephropathy) and I'm currently on dialysis (peritoneal).  I started on dialysis about 5 months ago.  I will try and answer your questions - just my perspective:

-Kidney disease in and of itself did not motivate me very much to keep fit / physically active.  In my experience it's either something you want to do or you don't.  I myself wanted to be fit, and pre-dialysis I went to the gym twice per week.  Post-dialysis, I have managed to work back into that routine.  It's possible that the knowledge I had kidney disease provided me with extra motivation, but I'm not sure.

-I found that being physically active was of benefit pre-dialysis in that it seemed to lessen the impact of some symptoms, eg. leg cramps.  It also probably gave me an additional "tolerance" level to things like fatigue - but that's speculation.

-I didn't receive any support with this.  That said, I never asked for any.