Exercises to get foot to lay flat

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi all! I am a newbie here. I broke my Fibula and Tibia on the 4th of July. Surgery left me with 2 metal plates and 12 screws. I finally got the okay from my doctor to start with partial weight bearing. The issue I have is that I still am unable to flatten my foot in my boot. My heel still is elevated off the ground even after 4 weeks in a air cast.  I try to push it a little and it is stiff as can be. It's hard to imagine putting weight on a foot that is not flat. Do you guys have any suggestions on what I can do to get it more mobile? Am I just being impatient and this is totally normal?

Thanks so much!!!!

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hey Spambs!

I just started here yesterday and everyone has been super helpful so far, I'm sure someone will be able to help you. Just from my own experience it sounds like your achilles is super tight right now. 😕 Are you able to do any flexion exercises? Like trying to point toes forward... It's all a work in progress unfortunately. I also have a plate and screws and I'm 6 weeks in. Try to find patience and accept that this process is going to take awhile. I wish you well!

• Posted

Hi, welcome to the club. This is normal and with a bit of physio to help stretch the heel muscle back to normal. It's like learning to walk again. I'm 18 weeks dwn the line and now doing some walking without aids at home. But still very painful and also have to think to put heel down first. Heel ball of foot toes, just didn't come naturally... Odd really. I also do foot soak in Epson salts which helps loosen everything up for a while. Keep wiggling the toes and give yr foot a nice massage. Hope this helps. Sx

• Posted