existential

Posted , 4 users are following.

So hi everyone! 

I'm a sophomore in college, and i'm having some trouble right now. I recently took a philosophy class and it blew my mind. I think this class is the source of all my anxiety- but let me explain. 

So i've spent the last few months questioning life- why we live it, what our purpose is, if there is purpose, things like that? You know, i feel like i'm going through an existential crisis. 

I was just wondering if anyone has ever obsessed over this and gotten over it?? it's really starting to scare me as i feel like if i convince myself more that my life has no purpose that i will drowned in it. 

Someone please help! i need recovery stories here for some inspiration!! 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Okay first off, take a deep breathe lol. It's just a class and philosophy is just a way of thinking at things. You're life has purpose. I promise, I don't think that's what the class is trying to maks you look at things.. have you talked to the teacher? I think you should just to clear things up. Get out of your head, it's unhealthy to be questioning things all the time. If it's causing you to physically worry all the time maybe you should try something else.

• Posted

It has been so many months since I took it, i didn't think to talk to the teacher. I think he more or less made me think about just "what if everything is not as it seems" in general, and so i read articles and convince myself of this crazy stuff. Sends me into panic almost always! I also struggle with depersonalization and those two are not a good combo lol. 

• Posted