Experiences with myocarditis?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Anyone with experience of myocarditis/ myo-pericarditis?

I'm a 23 almost 24 year old male, fairly healthy before all of my problems as far as I knew, never regularly seen a doctor. I am not a athlete or exercise fanatic as you most regularly hear about myocarditis sufferers, I am a EMT that worked on a ambulance and had a mostly sedentary lifestyle unfortunately.

It began I believe with what I assumed was a cold, severe sore throat, runny nose the whole works. I worked through it and treated with just cough drops and oral mucinex. I had recovered from that and around a week later?(timeline is a bit fuzzy) I had a sudden onset of chest pain in the center of my chest, no exercise or intense physical strain beforehand I was actually laying on my couch. And after a little bit of time had passed and it still hadn't improved I drove myself to the local, small hospital.

I have a family history of heart attacks on my dad's side so luckily that made them suspicious enough to overlook my age and normal blood pressure and heart rate. I was given a EKG that came back normal and chest x rays that were okay as well. They ran blood work, they seemed suspicious of drug use( I use no drugs but was a smoker) and that's when they found my treponin I was elevated, 3.125 I believe.

They transferred me to a larger facility with a cardiologist and I ended up spending the evening, and most of the early morning in the Emergency waiting for a bed upstairs. My EKG remained the same and my initial chest pain was gone, the first hospital had given me nitro and a nitro paste for the ambulance transport.

They treated me with blood thinners and informed me I had most likely had a heart attack and would be getting a angiogram done the next morning unless my chest pain returned.