External Thrombosed Hemorrhoids (Piles) - Pain & Bleeding

Posted , 18 users are following.

To give some context: 

I’m a 20 year old American male, I am very active and athletic, I’m in college right now as a nursing student, I’m a full-time firefighter/paramedic, and I’m assigned to the busiest fire station in the city. This plays a role later on. 

Here’s the entire story, little lengthy but I think it gives light to where I am now. 

Roughly 4 days ago I developed an external hemorrhoid. I’ve had internal and external before, but with relatively no pain and little-to-no blood. That morning, I went to the gym and did some power lifting, which I think may have been the instigator. Later that afternoon, I discovered it after a bowel movement, but there wasn’t any blood or pain associated with it, just a small (about peanut sized) lump. Didn’t think much of it, figured it would go away like the others have in the past. 

Fast forward a few hours after I discovered it, (late in the evening around 10pm), I began to feel some pain, but it was more annoying and uncomfortable that an actual ‘hurting pain’. 

The next day, I woke up in a world of hurt. I examined the area, where I discovered that the previously peanut-sized external hemorrhoid had doubled in size and had a small dark blue/purple mark on it. I still didn’t have any bleeding, just excruciating pain. That is when I realized it had become a Thrombosed External Hemorrhoid.