Extremely high liver levels

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello, I am new to this site, but this week I had an extremely bad pain in the upper right side of my abdomen. I went to the doctors and she ordered blood tests and an ultrasound. It turns out that I have multiple gallstones, larges is 35mm. But the blood tests came back with alarmingly high levels:

tot bili 51

GGT 729

ALP 223

AST 958

AST 1100

LD 920

Now I don't really know what all that means, but they are really high compared to the number showing what they should be.

Does anyone know if they are so elavated because I was in the midst of the gallstone episode?

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

When I had blood test during a bad gallbladder attack my doctor called me to say some levels were through the roof so on that basis I would say that this is possibly so but you need to check with your doctor. I have no medical knowledge just saying that's what mine was in case that helps you.. Did your doctor discuss them with you.
    • Posted

She sent me off for Hepatitis blood tests, and she said to not drink and eat well for two weeks, then come back and redo the tests.

I had blood tests only about 6 months ago because I was feeling tired and lethargic, but they came back with a thyroid problem. I would think that they tested the liver at that time, which means that these increased levels are fairly new....

• Posted

I would certainly agree that they are through the roof, I was pretty impressed with them. I tend to focus on the GGT (Gordin's Gin & Tonic) because that one is the one that doctors focus on when alcohol is an issue, by that I mean, the rest can be fairly low, but that one is the giveaway. I know this only too well because of my own problems.

I would ask the doctor what they mean and how are they going to be brought back down to normal.

• Posted