Eyeglasses post cataract surgery

Posted , 10 users are following.

For those who wear glasses after cataract surgery, if you could choose, would you prefer progressives, bifocals, or simple distance lenses?

0 likes, 75 replies

75 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

I really don't wear eyeglasses, except sometimes prescription readers, and on rare occasions, prescription distance eyeglasses when driving at night on unfamiliar roads.

Jim's suggestion is probably the simplest and cheapest, especially if you use a chain store like Eyemart Express, which I used.

• Edited

Given those three choices, I would take bifocals. I am wearing bifocals now, to be able to see near and far without having to repeatedly put glasses on and take them off. I am new to bifocals, and find them very annoying, but better than progressive lenses or single-vision lenses.

You did not list it as an option, but I might very well prefer monovision glasses. I think monovision is probably clumsier with glasses, but monovision is what I am used to and I think it would be preferable to always having to tilt my head the right way to see clearly. With monovision glasses, I would just put on my glasses in the morning, wear them all day, and see all distances fairly well without any head tilting.

What would you choose?

• Edited

Thanks Phil! I was thinking about bifocals although I wore progressives pre-cataract surgery. Basically I'd like to consider all options with the goal of thinnest and lightest because anything else is uncomfortable!

Many thanks.

• Edited

I continue to wear progressive glasses (only ADD) on top of contact lenses (single focus). I did trial out multifocal contact lenses, but they did not work out for me.

• Posted

Thanks pershoot! I'm not familiar with the meaning of ADD, could you tell me more?

• Edited