Fairly miserable experience at a discussion on talking therapies - ending up being bashed over the head

Posted , 2 users are following.

Today I attended a group at my day centre which was discussing talking therapies (yes, self-referential or what). The person chairing the group is a user/member who I used to be friendly with but I decided that I didn't trust him because he would raise things that I had said in a group out of group when we were supposed to be respecting confidentiality. He proceeded to read from some description of types of talking therapy from the Internet. There was only one other user there who doesn't have much to say for himself. There were 3 non-users there - a member of staff, a volunteer and a student OT. So I have had a lot of experience of groups and 1-1 over the years. I would be recounting experiences that I had had in groups. The volunteer is a sweet lady but she trained when younger as a psychoanalyst and she thinks that she is there to practice that. So if I was relating a negative event she would start questioning me about this. I finally had to tell her that we weren't here to psychoanalyse me or words to that effect.

So not only had I had this bad experience she was almost blaming me for it.

Naturally I felt utterly miserable afterwards. It didn't help that I wasn't feel at all well yesterday.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted