Fatigue

Posted , 2 users are following.

I am not sure I understand everything about the testing for the thyroid.  Will some one explain this --tsh ?  I am hypothyroid.  Presently taking 125mcg of synthroid (generic).  I woke up from a nap sort of shaking & legs feel wobbly.  I said before I had been on 100mcg.  I think maybe this is too much.  I feel weird.

Doc told me few minutes ago to alternate between 112 & 125 any thoughts?  So tired too.  Thanks.

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello  Marie:

I am a Nurse and live in the USA and suffer with Hashimoto's Thyroid disease. Here is a brief introduction on how it works.

Your thyroid gland makes 2 hormones called in short T3 and T4,  and it also works to make another stimulating hormone called TSH (Thyroid Stimulating Hormone). When your T4 level drops this stimulating hormone which acts like a METER, sends a signal to your brain and back & in short it says "make more T4."  

Now the thyroid gland has blood tests one is for T3 and also one for T4 and then the stimulating hormone which is "TSH"  and it helps to tell the doctor see how your thyroid is functioning.  It is an indicator of how the thyroid is doing with the replacement hormone.  It is not good to just rely on the TSH level, and the levels of T3 and T4 should be tested also.  TSH is just an indicator tool.  When you take the replacement hormone your thyroid converts it from T4 to  useable T3 and the TSH lets the doc. know how it is working.

The gland is complex and works along with your Pituitary gland in your brain to keep your gland in good shape.  It is a VERY IMPORTANT gland and sadly it does not grow back or heal itself if damaged.  Also they are unable to transplant it into another person, so they made a pill that replaces the hormone.