Fatigued

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi I'm a 45 year old mechanic and I have recently been diagnosed with R/A I've gone from being physically fit playing football weekly and going to the gym to being constantly tired and weak with constant pain in my feet.

Does anyone have any idea how to cope with the constant fatigue I'm feeling ?

1 like, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Also what pain relief do you take.??

Maybe a trip back to see your consultant. ..might need to review your medication ....

• Posted

Andrew,

I am sorry to hear about your diagnosis and painful feet. I was diagnosed 3 years ago at age 53. After the initial shock of my diagnosis, I have been on 2 medications that keep my disease at bay for the most part. I was told that fatigue is part of the disease and the best way to get through it is rest. I have had to make adjustments in my life so I can nap if I need to, and I have found that it is very important that I take extra good care of myself when I am in a flare-up. Stress is a trigger for my disease, so I try to stay calm and not get too upset by life's circumstances.  Sometimes this is impossible, but I have found that I do have flares when I am very stressed. On a positive note, I am fairly fit, I walk an average of 3 miles daily and I am able to do my job, which is teaching pottery classes and making pottery in my studio. I wish you the best.

• Posted