Feacal incontinence at work

Posted , 5 users are following.

I am a teacher and quite often experience feacal incontinance at work. I wear sanitary pads, and so have to dispose of these in the sanitary bins at school. All of the female staff have been sent an email saying that the company who clean/ change the bins have complained about feacallu soiled pads and can we all be more respectful and hygiene aware in the work place. I feel completely humiliated and embarrassed, but more importantly don't know how I can get round this issue as I can't flush such pads away or carry them home. Help or advice please!

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

I'm taking aspriso and it's like a miracle drug so far so good. I hope they realize this disease is horrible and you are trying the best you can ! How dare them ! People dispose diapers in rest rooms! Anyway I suggest carrying small bags for the napkins and then into the garbage ? 

• Posted

Thank you so much for your support- this is the first time I have used a discussion site- as I was too embarrassed to talk to friends or family. I will give nappy bags a go. 

So glad your medication is helping- I've not heard of this one.

Take care x

• Posted

This must be horrible for you. Remember UC is classed as a disability therefore your employer has to make adjustments for you, you could talk in confidence to your HR department, my suggestion would be  they give you a supply of small yellow (clinical waste) bags and somewhere to dispose of them. but if you don't feel comfortable I would go with the other posters suggestion of nappy bags, if you put these in the sanitary disposal bin no one will be any the wiser. I'm very surprised the collection company even know, the waste from them is incinerated not sorted through! Also have you spoken to your consultant? I would consider faecal incontinence as my UC not being under control and would want my meds reviewed.

• Posted