Feeling "crazy" after total thyroidectomy. How long will this last?

Posted , 16 users are following.

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting so bare with me please.  

I was diagnosed with Graves' disease back in March of 2015, and let me tell you it's been a real treat...*insert mad face here*  I had every symptom you could imagine.  For months my thyroid levels either went down a little or would sky rocket and my goiter would just grow and grow no matter what we did.  Finally my endocrinologist decided to up my dosage to see what that did. Luckily when I went back that next month my levels were good and I was cleared for surgery! That was a happy moment! So on Nov. 3rd I had my surgery, which went fantastic.  It was however 6 hours long, the surgeon said my thyroid was a lot bigger than he expected, 10 cm on each side, and was so tight it was like it was glued to my neck.  I woke up without any pain and have recovered beautifully since.  The only thing is my anxiety, which was originally a lovely side effect of my disease, has been on full blast.  I started a new job last week, but it gave me massive panic attacks so I had to quit.  I don't know if this will eventually calm down the more I take the synthroid or if this is going to be my new norm.  I am currently on anxiety medicine, I have been on it since August and my doctor just uped my dose right after my surgery cause the old dose wasn't working.  I am constantly worrying about stupid stuff, but for the most part I still feel fine.  It just comes and goes.  I've always known I've had some type of anxiety problem, but this is on a whole new level.  I need to be working, but I'm afraid that I won't be able to shake the anxiety and I'm going to have to suffer through it.  Can anyone tell me when this should calm down or if they had a similar story?