Feeling ill

Posted , 7 users are following.

I'm new on here. Its 36 hours since last drink. I feel sick, hot and have a stinking headache.

Whilst I do not consume the quantities of alcohol some do I usually have between 30-60 units a week. This is usually half to a bottle of wine a night and maybe a vodka or two. I have been drinking like this for more than 20 years. I stopped for 2 pregnancies but the last one was over 10 years ago.

Is it normal to feel so rough? It's like a kind of bad hangover. I have no plan of how to quit I just know I need to stop. Is it worth speaking to my gp for assistance quitting?

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Dear Mrs Hagfoot,

I am the same when I try stop drinking.

I tried again the past few days. Usually on day 3 I start feeling headaches and that's when I fell.

So last night after more than 48 hours of sobriety I drunk 1and 1/5 bottle of wine.

Today I feel awful with hangover and so much guilt and regrets. I shall try again from today to keep away from alcohol as I really want to end this misery so I would suggest you to take a couple of paracetamol and don't be tempted to drink.

Good luck

• Posted

Hi Mrs H

i felt the same last week.  I also have been drinking a similar amount.   I woke on Monday feeling dreadful,  it was the first time I have had mind fog so debilitating that I slept feverishly for 24 hours.  I was seen by the dr on Tuesday.  I couldn't tell him about my drinking but just told him about pain in my sides and ribs. I was tested for a water infection.   I really felt that I couldn't go through another hangover .  I'm just doing one day as a time but I haven't had a drink since.  OK, I know it's only day 5 but I'm feeling better in so many ways. I feel it is a decision that I have made and that I am going to stick with for long enough to break the habit.  Things do get better. Hope this helps.

• Posted