Feeling low - Switching from Citalopram to Sertraline

Posted , 3 users are following.

I've been on Citalopram for 2 years now, I'm 21 years old and suffer with anxiety and depression, diagnosed for 2 years but really was suffering 1 year prior. I've recently felt like I'm losing myself and slowly becoming numb. I spoke to my doctor, about me not sleeping and having panic attacks most days after a 6 month period of feeling under control. I have irrational thoughts all day every day about people around me dying, if I feel low I start to think my friends and family would be better off if I wasn't around. Not to mention a constant daily struggle of getting out of bed, and fighting back my tears ( I work in customer service so I can hardly cry all day ) I had 2 weeks off work back in December, which was enough for me to find myself again and find out what I need to do to fix myself. My partner is very supportive however his mum isn't, she doesn't understand mental health and calls me "silly" "daft" - she has now said yesterday to me I am affecting her life as I am only comfortable at home, which means my boyfriend being at my house with me as he wants to make sure I'm okay. I now feel absoultely worthless and hopeless, that I'm getting in the way and affecting everyones life and  

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

- sorry pressed enter. " : and I don't know what to do anymore. Any help?

• Posted

Hi Ellen,

?My heart goes out to you. I don't have the answer to "cure" you but you must remember that you are very brave and courageous. Living with anxiety and depression is hard work and that is what people like your partner's mother don't understand. You are amazing, you are managing to get into to work everyday.

?You should keep you doctor in the loop and get the help you need. Is there any therapy going for you?

Try and remember the good 6 months you had and the 2 weeks before Christmas, those times will come back again.