Female Severe Abdominal Pain

Posted , 2 users are following.

About 2 years ago, my 19 year old girlfriend began suffering severe abdominal pain. It would come and go every week or so, and last anywhere between 10 - 30 minutes. She's been the doctors numerous times and had tests, endoscopies, etc performed. They still can't figure out what the problem is and ended up dismissing her. The pain went away for about a year, but has recently begun to come back (less frequent than previously however).

I'm a Biomedical Science student, with some basic medicine knowledge/experience, and I can't think of anything, based on what professionals have said.

I'm starting to seriously worry about her now, as the pain is so severe it puts her to tears, and doctors can't figure out what the problem is, and simply give up with her.

Any information would be much appreciated!

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Another note: she was diagnosed with Raynaud's disease when she was younger
    • Posted

Well the obvious possible answer is that she's got Raynaud's in her Abdomen, she's suffering transient ischaemic events neutral
    • Posted

Hmm, if its obvious how come the doctor couldn't pick it up? rolleyes
    • Posted

Also- do TIA's even occur in the lower body? It's due to blocked vessels that supplies the brain.
    • Posted

Look if someone came to me saying I exhibit Raynaud's phenomenon and my Abdomen is randomly in agony and they can't find anything I'd say oh you have Vascular Disease, go and have a CT Abdominal Angiogram to confirm cheesygrin
    • Posted

Transient ischaemic "events" are TIA's?
    • Posted

Someone came to you? Are you a doctor?
    • Posted

Here's what Google says :

Transient = "lasting only for a short time; impermanent."

Ischaemic = "an inadequate blood supply to an organ or part of the body, ..."

Event = "a thing that happens or takes place, ..."

• Posted