Ferritin levels dropping too fast?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all,

Newbie here, found out I was homozygous H63D in January with a ferritin level at 483.  I have since given blood twice in 5 months and my ferritin has dropped to 63. 

I was told that my ferritin levels should drop by about 30 each time so I was expecting to be at about 420.

Should I count my blessings that my level dropped so fast?  Or is something else going on here that I should worry about?  Thanks for you help on this as I has got me a bit worried.

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

I started at 612 and only took 6 goes to get below 50. Everyone's different, I wouldn't worry.

If you want reassurance you can ask for your transferrin saturation to be measured.

• Posted

Thanks for the quick response Outremer84!  

My saturation was at 37% in January and is down to 30% now.

• Posted

Well, at least they're both going in the right direction!

Hope you feel better for it.

• Posted

I seem to remember reading that H63D is quicker to deiron.
    • Posted

Really?  I was looking for infomation on that just now!

• Posted

I can’t remember where I saw it but it could have been the Iron Disorders Institute. Perhaps others could back me up. Also,there’s a good UK Haemochromatosis support group on Facebook. I’m C282Y/C282Y so it took longer.
  • Posted

Hi

I'm also a homozygous H63D. My ferritin was 2000+ when I started  and it took 25 venesections to de-iron and my ferritin level dropped to 25. My ferretin did not drop evenly it was step wise, it would go down a little or sometimes even go up a bit and then drop a couple of hundred points and level out again.

Most Docs have little to no experience dealing with a H63D homozygote, and a lot of them will swear that we will not load iron. It took a liver biopsy showing 4+ iron deposition and liver damage for them to admit I was loading iron.

Don't worry sounds like they diagnosed you before any damage was done.