Fibroid treatment needed but unsure what to do.

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all. Newbie here. Been diagnosed with large multiple fibroids inside and outside uterus. Saw consultant and he prescribed Esmya for 3 months. Wrote Pearl in my notes and has plan to hysterocope in 2 months to check lining then remove any polyps.  No mention of polyps before. Asked me to look up embolisation which I have . Seems painful and no quick results. Can't think of being at work losing fibroids that are dead! Thought managing periods was bad enough. My work does not allow me to abandon people to spend all day in the loo! Think hysterectomy is my answer I am 54 and have no menopausal symptoms. Feel he wants to do UAE only and wonder if this Pearl is a study. Am I a guinea pig? I feel I am. Anyone have any thoughts knowledge of this. 

1 like, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

If you are 54 a total Abdominal Hysterectomy is the answer leaving the Ovaries which helps with the Menapause slows it. No more Bleeds.. no more bloating or dragging pains.. Best thing I ever did in my life I had 5 large Fibroids.. I was put on Tibilone post Op and was on that HRT for 5 years.  suture line on the Bikini line. healed well. Op was fine no after effects needs gentle healing for up to 6 -1 year Post Operatively and 3 months realistically off work.

Good Luck!

• Posted

Thanks, i feel it may well be the right way forward. My mother died of ovarian cancer but had hysterectomy much younger than me. Will have to think very hard about that one. Hoping for a speedy end to all of this. Thanks for taking time to reply.
  • Posted

Well it will be a great way for the Surgens to check your ovaries whilst havung the Op..

Best of Luck.

• Posted

Hello I'm new here . I'm 14 day post op from fibroid embolisation I had 3 massive fibroids 1 14cm one and 2 10 cm ones xx
    • Posted