Fibromyalgia diagnosis

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi I'm 18 ,I've been recently diagnosed with fibromyalgia and I'm still learning about it. I was just wondering if anyone else feels like their hips grind or 'pop out' I've also been given amitriptyline to help me sleep but I've been taking it for a week now and I'm still awake for most of the night. Any help would be much appreciated. :D

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Jessica, I'm amazed to hear from young people with the FM issue....did you go thru an emotional or physical trauma that pushed you to the FM syndrome?   I was hit at age 61 with emotional trauma and that on top of many years of stressors pushed my body over.    

My hips are not the issue with FM, it's more nerve pain in arms and upper back and legs too, but I deal with osteoarthritis and that is an issue that crosses over too with all this....Joy 76 US 

• Posted

I've had trouble with my bones for years but my dad is waiting for a double lung transplant and I think worrying ans stressing about him has contributed. 

Jess

• Posted

dear jessica98566

I have two replacement hips but didn't experience the popping you mention until quite recently after years of problems. I had this effect in my legs, around the knees and the sound it produced was like a series of pistol shots. I wasamazed at the noise it made and thought I was about to rumble to pieces, it was so bad.

When it stopped I found That I was still in one piece and I think it must have been linked to the connective tissue.I have never experienced anything like it before.

Wishing you all the best

Brenda

• Posted

Hi there Jessica, yes I experience grinding feing in my hips, they feel  so stiff. I feel 90 years old not 46! I too have started on Amitriptyline only taken 5 days so far and it has helped me sleep but I'm making a conscious effort to wind down each night.