Finally being listened to!!

Posted , 4 users are following.

TSH 2.930 (.450-4.5)

THYROXINE 6.7 (5.5-11)

Free T4 .81 (.45-1.63)

Free T3 2.7 (2-3.5)

Total T3 155 (71-180)

I have felt crappy for years. My doctor really didn't want to give me the medication, but I'm now on 1/2 grain of armour (pricey Medication even with good insurance...phew). Today is my first day, but he also put me on metformin for suspected pcos. Which I'm not too sure about since I have 2 kids.

Obviously I won't feel good right away, but how long does it take to feel better on the armour?

Take it an hour before I eat in the morning?

Is 1/2 grain enough to really see a difference?

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

It can take a while for blood levels to change. I would expect that your doctor would look for tests in 4-6 weeks. I am reading that many people only feel better when TSH is down to 1. I'm not a medical professional.  Seeing an endocrinologist may be a good idea at some point. Good luck!

• Posted

oh dear I have a long way to go with mine being 69.7.got to go back in 3 months for more blood tests however do not want to feel this tired. I wake up about 10/15 times during the night and shattered going to work.
    • Posted

Gina, can you tell us what dosage of what medication you have been prescribed?
    • Posted

Hi Dave

Yes Ive been given 75mg to take in the morning.I have taken first dosage today.

• Posted

It will take a while for Medication for thyroid to make a difference and I have to warn you when my husband started taking metformin he was feeling really unwell for two weeks, he was fine after this, but he still has to watch his alcohol intake and can't eat anything that is too fatty or fried.

• Posted