Finding answers for cough

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi again ,just want to thank everyone on this site for your post and support where I have learned so much about bronchiectasis. I usually just read post and hate to give advice when I think some because I don't feel as if I am an expert. Please ignor my rant today , bad night you see.!

After years of having bronchiectasis with extreme flare ups every 2 or three months, for  which I was prescribed  antibiotics or/and steroids , I am very close to solving my vicious cough problem. 

? After discovering  a small spinal fracture In December cause  by my cough told me the long term  of taking prednisone was resulting in a bone issue. He gave me 7 days of antibiotics which had me back well again. He said no steroids for a while.

That was 4 months ago. I am in the mist of my spring allergies right now

?Since then I have changed one of my inhalers , and began trying various antihistamines .

?I have found That Clariton  used in the morning , my Advair 2 a day , Ventalin 3 day , steroid nasal spray , Zertec at night keep the cough away most days and nights.

?  I do still have what I call bronchial spasms especially at night . Last night I was awakened at 3:30 with a cough that would not go away.

?I know it sounds as if I am taking too many things but I am desperate to stop the cough, and hey it works for me.

Thanks   Carol

3 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Carol, as a side issue...I've been taking a lot of steroids too and was prescribed Fosamax to help protect my bones and chewable calcium with vitamin D. Maybe you can explore that?  

• Posted

Thanks , Janet. I am on Focimax and the calcium for years now.

My cough is so bad though that this is the second fracture I've had . I think the key now is to get the exercise I need .It is just hard with every thing else to deal with.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!