Finding triggers

Posted , 7 users are following.

I'm a nurse, 58 years old, slim, fit and active.  I've started to have short (a few hours) episodes of atrial fibrillation that stops me working.  they started at the end of last year and have occurred every 6 or 7 weeks.  I get the odd 'flutter' most days too.  I'm not a heavy drinker and I don't smoke but I think maybe it was triggered by red wine (now stopped). The most recent episode was yesterday morning following a Sunday of cycling, beer/prosecco and cheese on toast to say nothing of the night cap of whisky (one only!!).  It was a relief when my heart flipped spontaneously back into sinus rhythm but I always feel tired and washed out afterwards.  I exercise with no problem but if I'm tired, dehydrated and not careful with what I'm eating (and drinking) then I'm risking things. I'm not on any meds although my GP wants to start me on Metoprolol but I'm trying to manage this thing through lifestyle choices, coconut water and cashew nuts for magnesium - I'll let you know if I succeed.  Regards to all.

ps: having an echo this afternoon, cholesterol normal.

0 likes, 38 replies

38 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Ian, 

How did the echo go? Although I realise they probably didnt give you any results yet. 

I think you are suffering from a latent reaction to alcohol. Maybe you should give up all drink for 3 or 4 months to see if the attacks go. 

• Posted

Echo was fine thanks.  Results in 10 days or so.  I also think it must be alcohol for me.  I have kept a diary and it seems pretty conclusive - once on holiday in France, once on Boxing Day ... I used to wake during the night after drinking 'too much' wine and my heart would be racing.  This might be a progression from that sinus tachycardia to paroxysmal AF.  I'll cut down, to the odd beer and see what happens.

• Posted