First time cipro for UTI .

Posted , 6 users are following.

My wife has been prescribed Cipro often for recurring UTI with no problems so when I was prescribed for it, at my request, I knew that there was an FDA warning but didn't think I had to worry about it. Was I wrong!!!

I'm a senior, senior who has degenerative spinal symptoms, and I already walked like Herman Munster, but when I took four pills on that prescription program, It put me in a walker. Over the next three days I graduated to using a cane . I would estimate cipro has reduced my mobility about 50 percent, or more. Leg and hip joint pain. (leg gives out) That looks like it will be permanent, and hopefully it won't get worse. If I get to rate Cipro I can only say, do yourself a great favor and don't use it.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Good morning,

You mention you are a senior but don't say how old, there is supposed to be an upper age limit for taking these. You do not say where you are, if in UK you might want to fill in a Yellow Card to get your issues with Cipro logged.

• Posted

Cipro and Fluoroquinolones are no respecter of age or youth they can harm anyone. Almost no need now for a yellow card report as the EMA (European Medicines Authority ) has put out updated warning to pharmacists and doctors to restrict their use for UTI’s, prostatitis and other conditions. The MHRA are updating the patient leaflets with the drugs.

• Posted

There's still a need for Yellow Cards, Derek, the EMA's warning managed to cook up a figure of only 286 people seriously affected across the whole of the EU in 21 years! The MHRA figures up to 31st December 2018 (covering a slightly longer period) showed 6,000 reports of serious ADRs with 161 deaths in the UK. I have no idea what search filters the EMA used but they must have been very defining and descriptive!

• Posted

Thank you for that information. I guess it is a bit late for me to Yellow Card it after so long has gone bye.

• Posted

Hi Oliver,