Fissure for 6 months, no pain though?

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi everyone,

I have read many posts on here about everyone's struggle with the curse that is an anal fissure. This is my first time posting but I thought I should because I have never read another person with a situation quite like mine... which is peculiar to say the least.

A little background... I am a 27 yr old female, active and healthy, located in the U.S. Last winter I had quite a traumatic health scare that resulted in severe anxiety and stress which I attribute to the partial cause of my first, now chronic, fissure. My fissure resulted from over-exertion passing an abnormally large BM. Immediate blood and pain which stayed pretty constant for several weeks until I first sought the advice of a CRS. BTW this was all over Christmas holiday so I didn't see the CRS until about 5 weeks after the fissure happened. I would absolutely DREAD going to the bathroom, however I did not experience excruiating spasms like most seem to do. I also went straight to the CRS bypassing my GP. I was obviously diagnosed with a fissure and put on Nifedipine Ointment. This was in January of this year (2017). After 5 months of using this therapy I still have the fissure but I am in practically no pain either when having a BM and have not bled in 6+ weeks. I actually really didn't bleed that much after the 1st month of this ordeal, besides slight pinkish streak on toilet paper ocassionally. To be honest, I don't really think about the fissure desite the occasional PTSD (as I call it) when I got to the bathroom sometimes. I basically do everything I did pre-fissure but, to be completely honest, sometimes I look at that area and can still see the fissure inside the canal.