Fissurectomy

Posted , 5 users are following.

After suffering from a chronic fissure I ended up having the fissurectomy last Monday. I am 10 days post op and feel worse than ever. The first few days were fine and then the pain started coming on strong about the 5th day. I made the HORRIBLE mistake of taking pain meds w/o stool softeners (they were making me super sick) and by time I realized it has been 7 days without a BM. It was, as you can imagine, the most horrible pain finally going. It took 5 hours, stool softeners and milk of magnesium to go. I thought I was going to pass out from the pain. I am relieved from the stopped up pain, but I am terrified I messed some internal incisions going. I've been in horrible pain since I went. And now I'm extremely sore down there from continuously going from all of that medicine. The muscles inside have been throbbing non stop. Only thing that helps is hot baths. I am a teacher and did not have much time off so I went back to work a week after surgery and I am in agony all day. Does anyone have any suggestions? I've had kidney stones twice (so big they were stuck & had to be blasted) & nothing compares to the pain of a fissure or the recovery of having the fossurectomy surgery. Thanks in advance!!! 😊

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi Jennifer,

Take laxido every day without fail, keeeps everything soft. Also get some dulcolax liquid and take if laxido doesn't give a daily result after taking for four days.

Once you get into a routine things should calm down.

I think your pain now is just post op and should gradually wear off as long as you keep on top of bm's.

Drink a lot of water in this heat. Good thing is that it's half term, maybe you went back to work too early, and could have done with another couple of weeks to recover.

• Posted