Flare?

Posted , 11 users are following.

I am interested to know if a return of symptoms alone constitutes a flare or if it must also include a raised CRP ?

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Yes indeed. Symptoms alone can indicate a flare. CRP can lag behind symptoms and I believe some people have PMR despite no rise in inflammatory markers. I always pay attention to symptoms first. Hope this helps.

• Posted

Symptoms trump all.

Many people never have raised inflammation markers.

And, based on personal experience, even those of us that can have raised CRP, these markers can lag significantly behind the onset of my flare symptoms.

• Posted

I'm new to PMR and GCR, only diagnosed in Nov with GCA so wish i knew an answer, although when they were lowering my steroid dose from 60mg to eventually 35mg i just didn't feel right so had anther blood test which showed a small increase in my inflammation markers so hosp put me back on 40 mg with a review on 2nd Jan. I wish my arms would stop aching when trying to do the slightest thing. Only way to get some relief is to let them just hang down, anyone else experienced this with their arms?

• Posted

I had pain throughout my joints and muscles. Have had PMR for a year now.

I want to share a recent discovery just in case it can help. Try splitting your Prednisone in half doses, half in the morning and half at night. I feel reborn after doing this about a week and a half ago. Before that I was taking pain killers every morning.

Good luck to you

• Posted

I'm on my 2nd flare in 5 years currently tapered to 8mg.

The 1st time or say diagnosis, an early warning sign was nothing other than hamstrings that seemed to need stretching.

However no matter how much I stretched I gained no improvement or relief.