Flare

Posted , 9 users are following.

im in the middle of the worst flare I've ever had. Been overwhelmingly painful for about a week now. On enbrel methotrexate and prednisone. Was taking hydrocodone 5mg but yesterday pain doctor changed to oxycodone 7.5. He said my sedimentation  rate and inflammation  was out  of control. I'm not too good at taking all of pain Meds in a day that I'm supposed to. Guess have fear that next day could be worse. Any suggestions other than take the amount in a day he prescribed. I've been breaking the pain med in half and trying to take smaller dose every 4hrs instead of taking a whole pill then waiting 8 hrs. Told me I could try methadone along w the oxy until everything calmed down. Also my rheumatologist is changing from enbrel to ???. Unfortunately she wants to wait until next appointment in a month. Any recommendations for a biologic ?

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Oh my ! It's so horrible! For now, my firt question is how much prednisone are you on, because as awful as that is (I just had my second cataract removed aqnd I'm too young), that is the only way I know of to get that RA down fast. I mean like at least 40 mgs for a few days and dosn from there

With the biologics, everyone is so different. Orencia was the one that worked for me, I just got too many bronchitis's over and over. But it was really good. One of my Doc's patients started Rituxin the same time I did, and he felt so good that he missed his next appointment, but after 8 months it did nothing for me.

So , just ask your doc what to try next. If you have the bad dry eyes like I do, maybe Orencia. I didn't even need Restasis, but now I have Sjogrin's, too.

Good Luck, Call Doctor and get those Steroids ! No paid med will help enough.

Good Luck.

• Posted