Flomax vs Finesteride

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi Folks, Im a 66 year old male who has a enlarged prostate or weak bladder. Oncologist put me on Flomax but the side effects were horrible. I tried Saw Palmetto and have found it works very well for me. This may sound silly to some, but lately I have been thinking about taking propecia for hair loss. I was on rogaine for 30 years and it has quit working. My question is would the propecia(which is one percent finesteride also have the same side effects as the Flomax did? Propecia was orginally used for treating enlarged prostate. I also have a ct scan once a year where they check for any lung cancer recurrance which I had 10 years ago and they removed my lung. Last scan they saw a spot on my pancreace and did a biopsy. Fortunatly it was benign but they said they will need to continue watching it for any growth or change. Amy replies would be appreciated.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Sorry. I have no direct experience of this, but as we are all individual in our reactions to drugs, I'd suggest trying it for yourself and see if it works OK without advers reaction, but of course stop if there is any. Wishing you well....

• Posted

Hi Mike

Prior to my HoLEP procedure two years ago which sorted out my BPH problems once and for all, I had taken everything you are on for almost a decade.

The Saw Palmetto worked for about 8 of those years by slowing the enlargement but it got to the point that something else had to be added to help boost the effects of the SP and I was first put on Finasteride then Dutasteride all of which act as androgen blockers.

I was also on Flomax for 8 years and personally I experienced no side effects which was particularly lucky for me as I was on alpha blockers for an irregular heart beat and by adding beta blockers (Flomax) there is a risk of blood pressure being lowered to unsafe levels.