Fluoxetine and amitryptiline

Posted , 3 users are following.

I have been on fluoxetine for a couple of years and feeling good ., after suffering severe depression.

I have recently been diagnosed as needing a knee replacement , and getting a lot of nerve pain.my GP took me off fluoxetine and I started amitryptaline and after starting with 10 mg have been on 50 mg for around 2 months. after feeling so fogged up and slow for weeks, also gaining weight ,I have had enough.I stopped a week ago , and feel pretty low now . The pain has not returned yet , but I am sure it will. I want to restart fluoxetine, but ask is there a nerve pain relief I can take along with it, without the awful side affects .( my husband said I had become a different person whilst taking amitryptaline , and not a nice one)

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hello Pam. I do sympathise with you. The medicine that's supposed to make you feel better has had awful effects. I'm a nurse not a doctor and the only thing I can think of at the present time is an analgesic for the pain rather than a nerve blocker. However these drugs also have side effects in some patients. A codeine based analgesic may work because they block the pain or an anti inflammatory. It all depends on what you may have tried before and which drug suits you best. Let us know how you vet on.
    • Posted

I am on cocodamol and tramadol , they help with the knee pain but not the nerve pain , that the hospital thinks is starting  in my back . I don't sleep and amitryptaline had helped with that , but I would rather have the pain than feel this unwell.  I have a telephone appointment with my GP tomorrow. I am sure she will not be happy with my decision , and just hope she will let me go back on fluoxetine . Why change something that was working well ? 
    • Posted