Fluoxetine to Effexor

Posted , 5 users are following.

Anyone have any input on Effexor? I've been on Fluoxetine for nine weeks and although there have been minor improvements, I still feel spacey and off; bouts of hysterical crying. I'm afraid of switching to Effexor for fear of what it might do to my brain; further damage...rendering me disabled. Before these meds, nine months ago, I was a fully functional graduate student. I sincerely need input as to the Effexor. I've had a genetic test done which showed that ssri's weren't good for me and that Effexor and Wellbutrin would be better suited. I'm not sure how much credibility to give to the testing. I chose the Prozac thinking it would lessen feelings of depersonalization/derealization...and it did to a degree. I'm afraid Effexor may bring it back or worsen it. Any input would be appreciated.

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

• Posted

I had the genetic testing done, too, and with the same results - after I had been on Effexor after 11 months. It had helped during that time but with a couple of two-week lay in bed and cry episodes.

It took almost 18 months for me to say that I am happier now than any clam. I may die tomorrow but I feel vibrant and positive today. I don't have the haunting thoughts and dreams any longer. No more staying inside, out of reach and miserable days.

I don't know that te Effexor was the complete reason for getting better but it had to have played a role - and I'm not going to stop taking it just now. I'll hang on for a year, maybe, and then see what my doctor may recommend.

During 30 years I've been on so many antidepressents. One was wonderful - Nardil - but it brought with it stroke-level hypertension and a ridiculous number of diet restrictions (no cheese? Please!).

I have to give Effexor at least half of the credit. I had a few side-effects in the first month but none after that. I would certainly choose Effexor again - well over Prozac.

• Posted