Fluoxtine

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have severe anxiety so bad that ave not been out my door in months.  I have been given Fluoxetine 20mg by the doctor but looking on teh internet has scraed me from taking these pills that can literly change my life and make me normal again, due to teh history of prozac which is fluoxetine said on teh internet people suicide cause of this drug and there is hoirrible side effects so is this drug really a good thing to take.  I am really paranoid to take this drug but i really need to take it

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

OK Ross, breath and relax! Take your medication and stay of the Internet. The Internet will drive you insane. I work in the medical field and a lot of my patients tell me they freak themselves out by b looking online. I'm guilty myself. All medications are gonna have some type of side effects, suicide is just like the most severe effect especially if u have a hx of depression. If you it makes you feel better, than take it and discuss any issues or concerns with your physician.

Good luck Rossg

• Posted

Please dont be frightened of taking fluoxetine.  It can have a few side effects for a couple of weeks while youre body gets used to it, but in the vast majority of cases these are barely noticeable.  

After a few weeks you should start to feel calmer and more in control and able to face situations in life without totally panicking.  This has worked for me and a number of other people I know who take it.  I would suggest that if you drink alcohol you make a big effort not to ever get really drunk while taking them, is some evidence that the combination of prozac and alcohol makes people quite impulsive and irrational.

Lots of Luck. 

• Posted

One should definitely not drink at all on medications, because alcohol neutrilizes the effects of the medication to help.  One or two should definitely not hurt at all. 
  • Posted