Food for OA

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi there

Have any of you found a HUGE difference following a specific diet for OA, other than losing weight and maintaining a good weight

I've tried all sorts!

Many thanks

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi there, I changed my diet. My diet constists of chicken, fish and veggie burgers, no beef, pork, lamb. I cut out carbs and sugar. I also drink carrot, celery, green apple and ginger a couple of times per week. I have a juicer. I find the change of diet helps and juicing celery pulls acid out of system, ginger helps with pain. I found beef to be high in acid and acid aggrevate's the pain.

I've been fighting OA for over 30 years.

Hope that helps.

• Posted

Thanks for that. I've been trying to eat more fish and lose a bit of weight. I'm interested in the celery info. Is juicing more effective than eating a stick of celery?!

OA is miserable isn't it? i feel as though I'm in a parallel universe. We have to keep each other going!

• Posted

Every time I think I am eating sensibly for my osteoarthritis I am either told by a medic or read some health advice that food is wrong! I just cannot seem to get it right! But the one advice that seems to be pretty constant is vegetables are great.

• Posted

Many thanks for replying. It really is confusing. I kept a log of what I was eating for a number of weeks to see which foods triggered inflammation with out success. I agree about veg and I'm eating more - making loads of soup! But I expect that's not right either...!!! Lots of greens have to be good anyway! If you find anything, do let me know please!

• Posted