Fractured Ankle Pain After Operation

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi I am new to this but hope it may offer me a way to talk to people experiencing the same thing.

A week today I had a fall down my stairs resulting in a visit to A & E. I was told I had fractured my Ankle and Tibia.

The way forward was to have an operation where four pins would be put into my ankle bone. Nothing was done with the tibia as I was told the ankle repair would help heal the tibia.

A bandage was on my ankle and a boot was fitted. I was in hospital for two days after the operation 3 days in total in hospital due to the current situation with the coronavirus.

I am now at home with crutches, Painkillers and injections of thin blooders every teatime to prevent dvt.

I am non weight bearing so apart from going to the bathroom I have to have my leg elevated on pillows. My question is how high does the elevation need to be?

I am in pain and my leg is still swollen but I think the worse thing is the stiffness in my leg and finding it difficult to lift my leg of the ground because it feels so heavy. I am not a big pull taker usually cope with pain quite well so thought don't take Painkillers untill you really need them. I haven't slept for 3 nights but last night decided to take a dose of my painkiller as prescribed and had my first night's sleep.

I don't think I have ever cried so much as over the last few days as before this was active.

Any advice would be welcome as I am very much at the start of my journey with this and want to know as much as I can going forward to get to my end goal which I hope will be walking normally again. ❤️

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Same as you nine monthes post opp.

Elavate above heart leval it will help..

God bless you it will get better..

• Posted

Thank you so much for your advice. I appreciate it. Julie 🙏

• Edited