Fractured fibular / pain / going back to work

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi. I fractured my fibular and am now in a non weightbaring cast. Thankfully didn't need surgery. However I am overweight and crutches been a nightmare so I have been weightbaring to the point of not using crutches at all (single parent and school holidays too). Today I've got quite a hot, burning, liquidy pain so am on bed rest. My other issue is in 2 weeks we go on holiday - so hoping to have cast off at week 5 instead of 6 and get a boot. How long has anyone used boot for? I'm also a paediatric nurse and will be looking to go back to work 7 weeks after break and I'm nervous. Just started a new job and still in probation so worried about having more time off but think of I can use the boot to help support my ankle it might be ok?

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi, I also fractured my fibula and did not have surgery. I was week and half in a half cast then spent 6 weeks in a boot non weight bearing. It was hell! One positive with the boot is it comes off and on for showering. Sleeping with it was the worst. Pain has been a huge thing for me over those weeks. I have been out of the boot for about 7 weeks and was told to just start walking, it was so hard, my leg had wasted away a bit and my muscle was useless. But I have been doing daily physio and although I still walk with a limp and have pain occoasionaly I am so happy to be walking. I wish you the best with returning to work, but keep in mind when the boot comes off, you wont be able to move your ankle etc as you did before the fracture. It takes time and you will be hobbling before it becomes a limp. You have to stretch and strenghten your muscles etc. I am a retired nurse and there is no way I could of gone back to work as soon as my boot came off. No way!. But your experience may be completly different. Sorry to be doom and gloom. But good luck to you. 
    • Posted