Freckle or melanoma

Posted , 3 users are following.

hi everyone. ive had this thing in my chest that looks like a freckle for a very long time. i knkw that its at least been two years, maybe even longer. i never have really paid attention to it. i jkst wanted to make sure it was normal. incase the picture is hard to see, its very small.image

0 likes, 28 replies

28 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi. Whilst i am no expert, your mole looks completely normal. It appears to have even borders, no irregularity in colour. When looking at moles always remember the ABCDE. A stands for asymmetry. B stands for border. C stands for colour. D stands for diameter. E stands for evolving. If it bothers you get it checked out by an expert who can give you a more definitive answer. But from what i can tell it looks fine. Good luck.

• Posted

thanks fot the reply. im not sure why i jjst started thinking about it more. its been there so long, hasnt caused problems, and has stayed the same. i looked up the ABCDE method, and i would have to agree with you. its been the same size, and never changed. i guess i only started thinkng about it because its a little bigger than some of my other frckles/moles.

• Posted

the abcde rule dosnt apply to some for example nodular melanoma is symetrical and also all one colour if in doubt see a doctor

• Posted

Hi there. Although i respect your comment, you are right about nodular melanoma,. But nodular melanoma is not as common as the more common melanomas. The ABCDE rule does apply to these. I should know i work in a skin cancer clinic.

• Posted

if u work in a skin cancer clinic why did u say to get checked out by an expert should u not already know with working in a skin cancer clinic that it was melanoma he had surly u should be an expert at these things

• Posted