Frequency of catheterization during the day

Posted , 10 users are following.

I've only been self-catheterizing for about three weeks, and wonder if I need to catheterize every time I urinate, or, would it be sufficient to do so only three times a day: upon arising, at mid-day, and before retiring for the night?

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I used to go by the clock.  I've been doing CIC for about 16 months now.  I don't measure every time now but, as someone said, you kinda get to know how much you're getting out.  Now, I'm mostly using urges.  Whereas at first (I was in total retention for the ultrasound test) I had to be retaining about 400 ml before I get an urge, now I get them at more like 250 - 350.  If your natural voids plus your cath volume is over 400 ml on a regular basis then you should probably do it more often.  From what you say, it sounds like you are able to do natural voids better than I.  Usually in the morning I have to just do it because I know its been at least 6 hours but I don't feel it at all.  I'm grateful its that way because I can typically sleep without having to get up most of the night. Often in the morning though I only have less than 300 ml which shouldn't be stretching my bladder out.  I understand the normal capacity of a typical male bladder is @400.  Trying to keep your residual under 100 ml sounds a little bit rigorous to me.

• Posted

Thanks, Keith. My morning total output is between 500-600cc/ml, so I'm probably drinking more liquids than I should late at night. I've only been at this for about a month, and have much to learn. My residual after urination when I started was 250-300ml, and is now down to about 150ml, so I guess that's progress.

• Posted