Frustrated and flabbergasted how rude and unthoughtful people are!

Posted , 5 users are following.

Today according to a latter I received last week, I had an appointment for a face to face assessment for PIP. This was to take place at home. I was shocked to be given this appointment at home, and very grateful not to be driving far to an appointment.

Well, I arranged for my youngest Daughter to be here for the appointment, she is a social worker and I thought she would have a proper understanding of the process. 1.30 , the time on my letter arrived and nothing! At 1.50 I phoned the number on the letter to ask what was happening, as no one had come, and no call to say anyone was late. I was told to wait an hour before phoning back. At 2.30 I phoned, no one had arrived, I was told that probably no one would turn up now as an hour had gone since the allotted time. I asked them to contact the 'health worker' to find out why. The answer came back that 'they' were not answering, but a new appointment would be sent out in time!!!

Needless to say, I am flabbergasted - no where on the letter does it say, if they haven't turned up in an hour, they are not coming. 'They' whoever they are didn't phone to say they weren't coming, if I hadn't phoned, I would still be waiting! However, if I didn't turn ip without good reason my claim would probably be turned down - it says this in my letter!

I find this totally unacceptable, I worked myself up for the appointment, my Daughter took time off work, and no-one bothered to let me know that no one was coming! 

I will probably have to wait ages for the new appointment! How rude! 

Sorry, rant over now!

2 likes, 12 replies

Report / Delete

12 Replies

  • Posted

    so sorry to hear  that the health proffessional didnt turn and couldnt be bothered to let you know they wernt coming. how rude was that. No wonder your upset and angry its not fair on your daughter also. so sorry this happened to you and so unfair. take care gentle hugs x
    Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

      Thanks Kaz. I would never behave like that, common curtesy wouldn't allow it, if I think I am going to be 5 mins late I phone! Add to that it was my daughter's birthday, I am sure she had better ways to celebrate than wait around with me for someone not to turn up! 
      Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

    Hi PiliPalaB4ch

    That is NOT good for the team to have not kept you updated.  If the tables were turned I am sure they would say you missed your appointment.  

    For your daughter to be there with you for support and understand it all.....(I bet she took time off work) it's such a poor process that this has had on you both.

    Please try NOT to stress over it as I know how frustrating you must be feeling, but just keep a record of today's events.  If they do send another appointment call them one day before to confirm that someone will be coming around for the appointment booked.

    The professionals in my opinion make matters worse for us as they do things when it suits them and that is no benefit to us.

    It is totally unacceptable and an explannation should be given for this missed appointment by the professionals.

    Do stay calm and positive and take one day at a time.

    Sending you a BIG hug from ME to YOU.......wink xx

    Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

    You should get in touch with PIPS and rant at them.I would be furious.I also had a home visit and they turned up thank God.
    Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

      Hi Pollmadoll I did phone PIP to find out where they were? I had a rant and the poor chap who answered, it was him that said they wouldn't be here if they were an hour late, and they would send another appointment. He did have the sharp end of my tongue, I said it was unacceptable and if it was the other way around, I would loose my application - but they can just not turn up and not inform me! 

      I also did say that I realised it wasn't his fault, but unfortunately he was the one who answered the phone! He said he would make a note of my concerns!!!!! 

      Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

      I have had a total nightmare with the DWP of misinformation and utter incompetence that meant I lost my benefits after having had shoulder surgery two days before.I spoke to over 50 different people .Spent 11 hours o the phone over 7 weeks sent 30 pieces of paper in 6 times. My MP got involved and I then had three apologies fro. The DWP and was reinstated.As I have had Fibromyalgia for 8years and was I .hospital a year ago due to panic attacks they nearly pushed me over the edge.I am alone with two young sons with no support.On a few occasions I had the phone put down on me. Having waited 30 minutes to get through
      Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

    Don't be sorry about your rant, you have plenty to rant about! It's totally unacceptable the way this system works, I think they just have no can r e about anything. You did well to stay as cool as you did, it's so very bad when people let you down like that, especially as if you had done that you would most likely have failed the assessment, and all we can do is hope it goes ahead next time rolleyes

    Hope you manage to enjoy the rest of the week

    Gentle hugs

    Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

      Thank you Boqer. I was very angry at the time, but I have cooled down now. It is so ridiculous it is almost funny now. I still have heard nothing, so it will be interesting to see how long it will be before I am contacted again! 

      Next time, I will phone the day before to check they intend coming, although, that doesn't mean they will come! 

      Gentle hugs back.

      Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

    I am so sorry to hear you were so badly let down.  I too think this is totally unacceptable.  You deserve at the very least a personal apology.  In your shoes, I would lodge a formal complaint, to someone senior.  It is outrageous that 'they' (the faceless pen pushers) treat clients in this way.  You're right, if you failed to turn up without notice or due cause, you would be penalised.  So should they. It's bad enough that we're kept waiting for hours over the allotted time at doctors and hospital appointments, yet if we turned up 4 hrs late we wouldnt get seen!  I understand emergencies happen and unforeseen circumstances can make it impossible to keep an appointment but it's not understandable that nobody turned up and nobody thereafter seemed to give a hoot that you hadn't been advised and apologised too.  Geez, this is just despicable treatment.
    Report / Delete Reply

Join this discussion or start a new one?

New discussion Reply

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!

We want the forums to be a useful resource for our users but it is important to remember that the forums are not moderated or reviewed by doctors and so you should not rely on opinions or advice given by other users in respect of any healthcare matters. Always speak to your doctor before acting and in cases of emergency seek appropriate medical assistance immediately. Use of the forums is subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy and steps will be taken to remove posts identified as being in breach of those terms.

newnav-down newnav-up